Sec. Dino supports pork ban of Governors

Metro News

Cebu City – Secretary Micheal Lloyd Dino has recommended to the President to support the total ban on entry of pork and pork-derived products from Luzon, imposed by the governors of Visayas in their respective provinces.

In a memorandum sent to the Office of the President Secretary Dino said that “Visayas Islands have a significant chance of protection from the African Swine Flu (ASF) virus.”

Dino added that the move of the governors is to seal the provinces to protect the livelihood of backyard farmers that constitute around 70 percent of the hog industry in the region.

“There is a high risk of contaminating the local hog industry run by backyard farmers who augment their feeds with leftover food collected from different food service establishments.”

Central Visayas hog industry is estimated to be at around P20 billion. More than half of it is from the Province of Cebu, which is said to be the 4th largest in the country.

In Central Visayas, Governor Gwendolyn Garcia imposed a 100-day ban on the entry of pork and products containing pork.

The ban on the entry of pork and pork products are also imposed by Governor Arthur C. Yap of Bohol, Governor Roel R. Degamo of Negros Oriental and Governor Zaldy S. Villa of Siquijor.

Around 58 provinces out of 81 in the country are imposing the ban to protect their hog industry.

In the memo, Secretary Dino noted that since the imposition of the ban, there is enough supply of pork, and producers even noted a 10 percent surplus in the supply.

Secretary Dino also cited that there is no significant movement on the prices of pork as shown by the price monitoring done by Agribusiness and Marketing Assistance Division of the Department of Agriculture Region 7 (AMAD-DA 7) since 05 July to 02 October 2019.

Secretary Dino reported to the President that “the ban imposed by the governors could be indefinitely extended until the government declares that the country is free from ASF.”

Similar memoranda were sent to the Cabinet Secretaries of the Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), and Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)./ JB/PR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *